An Example of Idiocracy in Jordan ::10% in Class Get A Only::

A week ago I got my grade for my French midterm.  I got an excelent grade but five of the students in the class got a 30/30.  That was when the teacher warned them to work harder on their attendance and their participation in class because only ten percent of the class was allowed to get an A.  Their attendance and participation was going to tip the scale in their favor once she gathered up all the grades.  There are 35 students in the class meaning that three and a half students or rounding it off to four would get an A.  This means that one of the students gets a B eventhough she/he got the same grade as the other four.  I was shocked and could not believe it. 

I told my sister and she was not buying it.  Then I told Amino and I decided to ask one of my other professors.  She confirmed the information.  And I was devastated.  This means no matter how hard I try in French the kids who have taken French in school before University will get an A unless two of them totally messes up in the final and I do soooooo good.  But the chances are slim.  What an idocratic system! So if half the class deserves an A they can’t all get it.  *shakes head at their money making schemes*.  Have shame on yourself University of Jordan!!!!

7 Responses to “An Example of Idiocracy in Jordan ::10% in Class Get A Only::”

  1. That really sounds gay. (note: my definition is in use for gay, meaning stupid)

    There is a story of how that became the definition lol.

    Also, I gave you a personal thank you on my blog in the post called “Waiting for Summer”. It is in the first sentence in the 2nd paragraph. It is small, but I thought you might like to see I appreciate you reading my stuff, lol.

  2. in response to your reply on my blog, (I think we are on at the same time too)

    Doesn’t matter, at least you do read, lol

    seriously, I wouldn’t even be reading your blog if I didn’t think you were a friend of mine. it is extremely hard to become my friend, and I could of had many. The point is I guess, thank you for taking time out of your day to read a few crazy posts from an even crazier person. 🙂

  3. The 10% is result of the faulty grading system. When you have (A,B+,B,C+,C,D+,D and F) you have a large range of grades compared to the (A,B,C,D and F). Also the application of the grading system is idiotic. Teachers should not pre-determine the number or the percentage of students to get a certain grade. The system is designed to work best if applied according to the normal distribution (bell’s curve). On the bright side I took classes at the university of jordan where teachers decided that nobody deserved an A or even a B+, and started their grading from B. Good times.

  4. I sympathise with you, Kloude! It’s an unfair system, but I know why they do it. In Britain there’s major controversy that exams are getting ‘easier’ because students are achieving higher and higher grades each year. We donn’t have the 10% rule, you see. Of course, no one’s thinking about the fact that you do HAVE to work harder every year if you want to do well, because there’s so much competition.

    As a result, my a levels are going to be pretty much owrthless in a few years. *sigh*

  5. […] In relation to Kloude’s post, I’ve decided to conduct a study about this, and see the bottom of this. We need to petition, but of course, you can not petition without asking the dean’s permission. Now isn’t that sweet old democracy? For those who have been living under a rock, it seems no matter how hard you work in any class; only 10% of all students get the A. Even if you had the very same grade, only one of you will get the A, and you’ll end up confused, and wondering what went wrong. It is simply a reputation that they have to live up to, the University Of Jordan does not give easy A’s, unlike private universities. That is the common misconception, and even employers give graduates of private universities the third degree when notice their high GPA, but if you get a high GPA in JU… you’re a freakin’ genius! What if you happened to teach a class of geniuses with tremendous potentials, are you going to give the 10% an A, and shove the rest into the shaft? This is sad… […]

  6. […] Yup you read that right.  And the saga goes on.  First, I found out about how only 10% of a class can obtain an A even if the whole class deserved it and now this.  On Wednesday, my Computer Skill’s professor was discussing the testing and grading system of the University since we have an exam tomorrow *makes a note to study for the exam which is less than 18 hours away* and he let it out that no matter how well we all do he has to fail 6% of the class at least.  So if the worst of us got Cs in the class they would fail even though they don’t deserve to fail.  This is just stupid.  […]

  7. […] In relation to Kloude’s post, I’ve decided to conduct a study about this, and see the bottom of this. We need to petition, but of course, you can not petition without asking the dean’s permission. Now isn’t that sweet old democracy? For those who have been living under a rock, it seems no matter how hard you work in any class; only 10% of all students get the A. Even if you had the very same grade, only one of you will get the A, and you’ll end up confused, and wondering what went wrong. It is simply a reputation that they have to live up to, the University Of Jordan does not give easy A’s, unlike private universities. That is the common misconception, and even employers give graduates of private universities the third degree when notice their high GPA, but if you get a high GPA in JU… you’re a freakin’ genius! What if you happened to teach a class of geniuses with tremendous potentials, are you going to give the 10% an A, and shove the rest into the shaft? This is sad… […]

Leave a Reply

