Jordan Planet Meeting

Jordan planet had their monthly meeting last night October 12th.  Since it’s Ramadan they had an iftar (breaking of the fast) meeting at Belle Vue Hotel.  Though I wanted so bad to attend it I just couldn’t bring myself to pay 11.50JD (over $16) for the buffet.  One of the main points for fasting during this month is to be able to more fully understand what those less fortunate than us are going through and I just can’t bring myself to spend so much money on food when there are so many people out here who can barely afford to put the cheapest food on their table. 

Also, if I had gone I would have wanted to get my money’s worth out of the buffet and since I have lost my appitite for food a few months ago I know I would barely eat a thing.  Plus does this mean (and don’t get offended people) that JP is for rich snobs? Because though I might splurge once in a while and treat myself to something like that I just can’t see how JP didn’t take into concideration that maybe just maybe some if its members would not be able to afford such a heavy sum.  To some that amount is nothing but to many, me included, it is something.  I would rather use those sixteen dollars (yes i still think in american dollars) on something more long lasting and worthy.

I demand that we have another meeting (yeah right) for those who couldn’t make it to this one!

Related links:

Jordan Planet Iftar Meet-up

5 Responses to “Jordan Planet Meeting”

  1. Good for you, recognizing Ramadan beyond the level of observing practices but losing them entirely by forgetting their meanings.

    It’s like the people who only fast from food because they totally don’t know what their religion is even about.

    I admire you. ^_^ One of these days when I know when it’s coming I’m totally going to do Ramadan. I need some help though since I don’t know how to pray.. but I think it would be an interesting experience. Lemme know when Ramadan’s coming up next. Maybe I should come live with you next Ramadan 😛

  2. Aw you missed it? well money is always a pain in the butt lol.

  3. not really K

  4. Salam,

    Buffets in the states start at $4.99 (CC Pizza) then Chinese about $6.99 then Indian about $10.
    From the pictures I think $16 is not a bad deal for all that food.

    But you do have a valid point When meeting in a cafe people can order from a cup of coffee to ordering a whole meal, depends on thier budget.

    Maybe, if a room was reserved for a grand total price, let’s say 250 j.d then JP started saying we are having iftar at so and so hotel on so and so day and we need to come up with 250 j.d minimum pay is 11 j.d. and money should be collected a week or two before the meeting day.

    Now if they meet their goal that’s good if not then the people in charge of JP should go around and campaign for it. In the states people usualy pay for one day iftar for the everybody $500. We usually have a full schadual from day on ein Ramadan.

    That’s what I would have done, this way the meeting would cover a much larger slice of the Jordanian bloggers.

    But who are we kidding JP is catered for a certain class of society.

    I’m still calling for bloggers from Zarqah,a shaikh bloger, and an Iraqi in jordan blogger.LOL

    Happy Ramadan

Leave a Reply

