Novel 1

 This is my answer to the first question in my novel (1) midterm exam.  It’s just when I wrote it I honestly thought it was garbage but when my professor actually pointed it out as being the best answer she had gotten (and of course she had to add to the animosity of the students…she read it to the class) I was completely shocked.  Though I must say that when she read it to the class it did sound like it was a decent answer but then as I was typing it up to save on to my computer I changed my mind.  What do y’all think?

The professor had said I would have gotten a full mark had it not been for my setting it mainly in the past tense (which you can see is somewhat fixed in the answer provided) and not providing a title.  However I did get nine out of ten…but I’m not sure if it deserves even that. You be the judge…

November 5th 2006 

  • Read the following quotation carefully, then comment on it in a way that explains the theme and title of Pride and Prejudice.  Answer in ONE paragraph. 

‘…I was spoiled by my parents, who though good themselves…, allowed, encouraged, almost aught me to be selfish and overbearing, to care for none beyond my own family circle, to think meanly of all the rest of the world, to wish at least to think meanly of their sense of worth and compared with my own…and such I might still have been but for you, dearest, loveliest, Elizabeth! What do I not owe you! You taught me a lesson hard indeed, at first, but most advantageous.  By you I was properly humbled.  I came to you without a doubt of my reception.  You showed me how insufficient were all my pretensions…’  

  •   My answer: 

The above quote is said by Darcy.  He explains to Elizabeth the way he used to be; that he had been confident in the person he was until he met her.  Everything he had stood by was shattered when he fell for Elizabeth.  He only had cared for himself and his close relatives and friends until Elizabeth, by her uncaring manner, makes him fall in love with her.  He is taught from a young age to look down on the world and its inhabitants as below him.  However, when he finds his female counterpart, he receives a slap in the face.  By loving her he looses his pride and selfishness.  He no longer only thinks of his own happiness but that of Elizabeth’s and those she loves.  In this short quote he shows the possibility of change; a change brought about by love.  His love for Elizabeth changes him in so many ways.  First he looses his pride; then, he thinks of others before himself.  Also, he makes it clear that he would not have changed if he hadn’t met Elizabeth.  His perceptions change as well.  He had believed that Elizabeth would have been honored by his attention as any other woman would surely have been because of his status but by being wrong he realizes that he has finally found his match and his equal. 

2 Responses to “Novel 1”

  1. Hey Kloude,
    The question is pretty easy and is basically one of the main themes of P&P. You gave a perfect answer, though wordy. In the first couple of sentences you repeated the same idea but in different words. However, your style in writing is excellent and I’m sure that very very few people at JU can write what you wrote 🙂

    Be proud! 🙂

  2. […] I’ve always known that university students here need everything spoonfed to them.  Like they’d have a fit if any of the questions on the mid or final were not directly discussed in class.  A perfect example would be my Novel midterm for this semester.   The question was a simple quote straight from the novel.  However, the professor hadn’t in anyway alluded to this particular quote in any of our lectures so the student’s had a major fit.  Sad I know.  […]

Leave a Reply

