Brainwashed Arama

Yesterday in my Novel class we were discussing eighteenth century English society and the Jordanian society of today.  The professor asked if the two societies were similar or not.  This led to a pretty heated discussion where the class was adamant that the two societies are in no way similar.

 Personally, I made it clear that I believed that both societies are very very similar.  Not 100% literally but pretty near that.  In the eighteenth century marriage was a very important thing; it was a topic on everyone’s mind young and old.  And no matter how hard my classmates tried to deny it we all know that that is something that everyone thinks of here in this society.  It is the goal of most of the young adults here.  The girls go to university in hope to quickly finish their education and get settled down by getting married right afterwards.  The men go to university in hopes of getting a high paying job in order for them to be able to get married and have a home of his own.

 In the eighteenth century England if a woman didn’t get a husband she either lived to be a spinster (which was considered a very bad thing) or she would become a whore.  Though this does not fully apply to this society, it still in a way does.  Women who don’t get married are looked down upon and are thought to have ‘something wrong’ in them.  And I’m positive to some minor percentage some of them become whores, but this is not as much as in eighteenth century England. 

Then the professor asked them, ‘In this society today is it possible for a woman to be completely independant?’  It seems as though the students didn’t understand her question.  Because they were all nodding and everyone who said anything only talked about how women can work and find jobs without problems.  They seem to have a very narrow opinion of what ‘independant’ actually means.  To them it means being able to work. 

In this society it is almost impossible for a single woman to be completely independent (as in living on her own and working and being answerable to no one but herself).  Those that do break away and actually do go against society and live independently are looked down upon in this society.  Exactly like 18th century England.

The discusion went on but I was heartly sick of their narrow mindedness that I gave up.

But just to close off this post I would just like to note that some perverted student (either before the class started or from a student in the previous class) wrote on the blackboard  ‘The woman leaves her home only twice; to her husband and to the grave.’

6 Responses to “Brainwashed Arama”

  1. read the comment for the post after this.. which was did you even read the whole thing!!

  2. ok I should comment about the actuall content of the post now! They really have no idea what the world is really like.. They don’t understand that being indipendent (not necessarily leaving home) is the ability to make one’s own decisions, and to think for one’s self.. That is I think a huge part of what they are missing.. And the lamest thing ever is that they think that a woman is only honerable when she has a husband or male to dominate her!!! Where do they get their minds from honestly!!???

  3. what bigotry…the horror…the tragedy…(stumbles off ranting, raving and generally spouting obscenecities)

  4. Right on, sister. 🙂
    I always wonder, since I went to university abroad, how my experience in class discussions compares to Jordanians who went to an Arabic university. For my my frustrations was usually how Eurocentric everybody in my class was, and how even the course material was just so White. I don’t know if I’m the devil’s advocate, but I found that abraod I always end up taking the defensive stand about the Jordanian society, and in Jordan I would the complete opposite!

    Well, on the bright side, wasn’t the 18th century characterised as the “Age of Enlightenment”? Maybe we will be (re-)enlightened soon?

  5. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  6. Hi !!! ^_^
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Your Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

Leave a Reply

