Voila! ~Arabic Food: Take One~

I surprised some of my closer friends when they found out that there is a good amount of Arabic food that I really like.  So I decided to try and take pictures of my favorite Arabic/Middle Eastern foods whenever I have the chance. Which is rarely since we don’t eat Arabic Food that much anymore.

Feb 1st

Mulukhia: Now this isn’t one of my favorite Arabic dishes but it is my favorite dish when categorized with the other more soupy/rice dishes (like if I had to choose between this, bamia, or fasoolia; I’d always choose this dish). Not very appetizing in looks but if cooked right it tastes pretty darn good.  I haven’t had it where it tastes good for years now but I still remember the good old days when my mom used to make it in America and for some reason it always tasted good there. Add lemon and viola! With all those kinds of dishes (bamia, fasoolia, etc) I never touch the chicken or meat and its the only soupy stuff I’m willing to eat. As a general rule I don’t like soup.

Too bad it wasn’t that good this time.

.

Feb 3d

Imsakhan: A dish made with pitta bread or shrek bread.  It has seasoned onion and chicken and nuts.  I tend to just eat the onions with the bread since I don’t care for the chicken cooked that way. I also prefer it rolled up in shrek bread but this is good too. My family usually cuts the onions in strips here they are diced.  Either way its pretty good though again nothing great to look at. The onion is usually precooked with its seasoning till its really really soft and almost brown. As I said my family shreds the chicken (only way I’m willing to eat it with chicken) and they make little enchilada type rolls with it and bake it till the bread is nice and crispy.

 .

This is the first time I ever have it with peanuts. Interesting.

..

16 Responses to “Voila! ~Arabic Food: Take One~”

  1. mmmmm… that emsakhan was good by the way…tho i did spit out the peanuts.:D

  2. Interesting way of decribing the way to cook those recipes. Sahtain!!

  3. With all due respect, those don’t look savory at all!
    For starters, chicken shouldn’t be in the Molokhyyeh like that, they’re ruined in this fashion (Meat, on the other hand is fine to be like that)
    As for Msakhan, the authentic way is to have it on Taboon bread, since it’s much thicker, has better taste, flavorful and gets yummier with the chicken stock with the olive oil and onions. The closeset relative to Taboon bread is the Indian Nan or Persian bread. In Jordan there’s a type of bread called Mashrooh which can also be a good substitute. Shrak and Pita are really not that good with msakhan

    Anyway, sa7tain 🙂

  4. this is some good shit, I want

  5. actually qwaider the musakhan in the pic is made with the taboon bread. i prefer it with shrek bread tho. an arab friend of my mom made it for us. very different from what im used to but it was still good.

    yeah and i must say they don’t look good at all in the pics. but thats how arabic food usually looks unapetizing. Thank god at least some of it actually tastes good despite the way it looks. lol

    and to me i don’t care if its meat or chicken i don’t touch either

  6. I’m not not trying to be rude or anything and just for ur infos it shouldn’t be peanuts , it should be pine nuts ( snobar )and also, the pita is tastier than the indian nan ,since i tried both 🙂 yumm yumm lol it’s one of my fav dishes . Nothing worng with the chicken in the moulokhya it’s all delecious 🙂 as a matter of fact I just had moulokhya with chicken in it,it came out good with cilantro and roasted garlic .

  7. Mikail, the peanuts is the most yummy thing ! :D, and chicken shouldn’t be inside mlokheye .. eww :S
    msakhan is best done with thick bread and alot alot of olive oil !!

  8. ewww Mohamad 🙂 peanuts with emsakhan no way , but it’s okay if u liked it this way , but the chicken inside the moulokhyeh is boneless not with bones , u should try it :)and also mix the oil don’t use it all olive oil , it’s too heavey on the stomach ..thank u .. and sahtain 🙂

  9. i miss eating this food.this is one of my personal favorite.

  10. SOMEONE BETTER THAN AMERICAN SHITHEADS Says:

    ARABIC FOOD IS A MILLION TIMES BETTER THAN WESTERN FOOD.. YOU GUYS EAT SHIT BECAUSE YOU ARE SHITHEADS WHO DONT WASH THEIR ASSES WHEN YOU SHIT!

  11. Crazy American Radracer Says:

    WOW ~~ now THERE is INTELLECT if I ever saw it!!

  12. i always wonder where these ignorant fools come from…….

    ALLU BELORE DELAH’NAH SOMEONE WHO THINKS THEY ARE BETTER, FOOLS GOLD BELONGS TO YOU, ENJOY YOUR MEANINGLESS WEALTH

  13. Musukhan best of Palestinian Folkloric Dishes, and tastes very good, provided you have it with Youghurt & Tea afterwards…For those who deplores Arabic Food, it’s a mixed Turkish-Arabic Origin and one of the best tasty food, moderately spicy and healthy

    As for mulokhia (a word originated from Moloukia “Kingly”, I think it should have bee presented in a more clean way, it’s also much tasty as a dish with lemon/garlic/fried bread as side dish….

  14. omg that is not mlokheye, please don’t destroy lebanese rumour about food

Leave a Reply

