Random ::Good Day::

Finally, after a few weeks of some sort of depression, I had a really good day yesterday.  I got up around nine in the morning (yes early for a Saturday) but I had agreed to help a friend out and take his two kids to drum lessons. 

Of course, I get to their house and the kids don’t want to go. I text my friend and tell him this and he says to just help their mom out and get them ready for soccer practice then. That wasn’t a problem. Just when they were about to leave the kid’s mom asked me if I wanted to go with them to soccer practice. The plans I had for the day had just been canceled- so I figured what the heck- and I went with them.

I didn’t expect to enjoy myself but I was surprised I did. The kids were really excited to play and I got to bump into a handful of my kindergartners and it was a nice feeling when they realized I was there and they showered me with hugs and questions. I ended up playing with one of them for like half an hour making patterns with our bodies- claps, stomps, snaps etc. I would keep making them more difficult but she somehow was able to follow along for the most part.

I cheered some of the kids on and then hung out with the parents and chatted. Before I knew it the two and some hours had flown by and we were about to leave. It was such a stress free time I hadn’t had a chance of having in a long while. Not once did I worry about the work I needed to finish over the weekend, or the jobs that needed to be done or the bills that needed to be paid, or the test on Monday I had yet to study for, or any of that stressful stuff.

I, also, was craving social activity: being around people that didn’t ignore you or anything like that. Afterwards, we went to Red Robin for lunch. Four kids, their mom, and me. It didn’t even cross my mind that the kids would be rowdy or somehow end up having tantrums and they didn’t. It didn’t even bother me that we got a table in the center of the room when I usually prefer booths. None of this bothered me and the kids were perfect angels.

After that I hung out at my friend’s house (the kid’s dad had gotten back from work and took all the kids to a birthday party) and we watched the sequel to Elizabeth with Kate Blanchett (?). It was such a relaxed Saturday.

I haven’t had a day like this in ages. Come to think of it I don’t think I’ve had such a non-stressful day since my summer vacation in California.

2 Responses to “Random ::Good Day::”

  1. Well that seemed nice. I wish I can have the same! Free-stress time… ~sigh~.

  2. Alhamdulillah. You deserve a stress-free day. I guess you are getting more than you intended on leaving Jordan. InshAllah you will learn a lot and benefit from the hardships and the easy days. We miss you. K Noor

Comments are closed.