Call

A friend of mine called me a few hours ago.  I haven’t talked to this friend in ages and mainly it was through emails since we live thousands of miles away. I met this friend of mine in Jordan and we became very close friends so naturally was so happy to hear such a familiar voice. 

I’ve been having a very depressing spell recently. It’s been so difficult balancing life with school and work and a ton of other stuff I’m active in- like the end of the year program for the school i work at, and the yearbook committee that meets after school, and right now the most important thing- the Shanty Creek Retreat.  I was asked to be in charge of the elementary aged kids. They’re about 7 to 11 years old and I agreed. In return they’d pay for my accommodations and all.

This is a annual thing the community here does and so I heard a lot about the previous years.  I agreed to volunteer but didn’t realize how difficult it would turn out to be. I had been told it was nothing to sweat over. I hope not.

I went shopping today with $100 of the $400 dollars given us(elementary and pre-k groups) as a budget and bought books with $50 for the kids to read. I did get some markers and go fish cards as well. That’s a start I guess. Now I need to plan for what I need to buy before Friday rolls around.

I’ll be having about 70 kids for an hour and a half twice a day for two days. Six hours in total. I think I can handle them. I’ll be armed with a movie for each sitting, some paint, markers, crayons, beads, books, and I don’t know what else. Hopefully it’ll be enough for everyone to find something interesting to do to pass the time while their older siblings and parents are going though some lectures and workshops.

Then I’m free for the rest of the day to do whatever I wish. That should be really nice. I hope.

How did I start talking about the Shanty Creek trip when I had mainly wanted to write about how happy I was to receive said phone call?

Oh yes- my depressed spell.  Well add to all that stress is my inability to decide where to move to.  I need to find an apartment sometime this summer but am too lazy to get my ass moving and start calling. I finally got myself to tour two apartment places that are amazing but at the top end of my budget (that is pretty much non-existent) and drove around to check out a few other apartment complexes. Out of all the ones I just drove around I am only willing to call and make an appointment to look at two more. 

Hopefully something good turns out or somehow I get a really good job and become rich over the summer- then I wouldn’t have to worry about it.

Either way stress is really depressing and it really eats away at you.  I had a better than average day (average= how I’ve been doing the past month, which isn’t in too good a standing in itself) and receiving that phone call just made my day.

AlhamduliAllah.

I guess we should be thankful for all the little things in life that make life bearable. 

5 Responses to “Call”

  1. if her name starts with a D.. I gave her your number. 😉

  2. nope it wasn’t dini if you were wondering. she’s not in jordan anymore. well nor is the person that called me but thats beside the point :p

  3. Aww, poor Kloude. House-hunting is so hard, but I’m sure you’ll find a decent place in your budget soon. 🙂

  4. Believe me, I no from experience…..when u think it cant get any worse, sometimes it does. But remember through it all, Allah is always there and there is some sort of wisdom in these hardships that we just dont see while we are in the eye of the storm. Its all a test and inshaAllah we only seek His reward. U will know what Im talking about when i talk to you later!! Anyways, leave the hunt for the apt till later when summer starts. You have too much on your plate right now to add more stress that can be put off for a couple weeks when you can give it more attention.

  5. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Incoherent.

Comments are closed.